Use Mobile Phone

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Monday, 20 December 2010

I Prefer My Police CORRUPT

Posted on 07:00 by Unknown
"The police in Costa Rica are corrupt." "All the policemen in Costa Rica accept bribes and are on the 'take'." What?

They say if you repeat things often enough over time they become true whether they are or NOT. Unfortunately, the ones doing the 'repeating' are usually doing just that, repeating, and don't normally have the first clue as to the validity of what they're repeating.

Corruption has many levels, and the reasons of 'why' can be somewhat complex to say the least. The sole purpose of this post is to offer some perspective to the 'would be' traveler about the so-called 'corruption' they'd be most likely to encounter during their visit to Costa Rica, that is, if you call giving a cop $100 bucks vs. paying a $400 ticket- corruption. I'd call that a discount, but that's me.

I truly believe their is a difference between a police officer accepting $50 bucks or so for letting a 'speeder' go and looking the other way as a truckload of cocaine rolls into the neighborhood.


Police in Costa Rica don't get paid SHIT, which is the MAJOR reason they let the speeder go, after the discount that is. It's easy money, and really, a win-win situation for all involved. If you were putting your life on the line for minimum wage or close to it, I think this would be much easier to understand. These people have families and mouths to feed, which isn't an excuse since obviously they chose the profession, but come on, pickin' up a few extra bucks from gringo tourists who ARE speeding- call me 'crooked' but I get it. Sometimes being the kid in the candy store is just a little too hard to resist. *If you don't understand this, you're either a Republican or your dad owned a candy store, or even more likely, BOTH.

Costa Rica in general is perceived as a corrupt country because of the entire 'bribe the traffic cop' thing and obviously there is truth to that. But what isn't true is the cops in Costa Rica will shake you down and take your money. Don't get me wrong, that has happened and on occasion probably still does, but with the onset of technology, better training, a little more money and an effort by the police to curb the problem, this type of strong-arm intimidation/extortion, is slowly becoming the exception rather than the rule of old. They try that shit now and there's recourse just like you would have in the States. Here's an example of Costa Rica cops demanding money at a checkpoint outside Jaco. Costa Rica isn't Mexico, or at least the Mexico you often hear about. And really, let's not throw too many stones here, the U.S. definitely has its share of 'bad cop' syndrome.

Me, I've had numerous interactions with police here and have never been asked for money or given it. They've always been professional with me... because believe you me, if they hadn't, you'd have heard about it. BUT, if I was speeding and was stopped, I'd be ecstatic to be offered a a more timely and cost effective alternative, because right now, FINES are high and I WAS speeding for Christ sake. I'd much rather provide for a police officer and his or her family than the bureaucrats and theirs.

Really, this is my point-
When you get pulled over by the highway patrol going 100mph from LA to Vegas, I got a million bucks says you wish you'd been pulled over in Costa Rica...haha
Here's my VIDEO about Police Corruption in Costa Rica:



A couple things to keep in mind-

*If you get stopped, be careful about offering a 'gift'- it is against the law and it's a hefty fine. You may want to wait until the officer offers a solution to your problem FIRST.

*They can chase you in Costa Rica but normally you'll run into a check-point or they already 'caught you' and you'll be motioned to pull over. This is rarely done by one cop, where there's one, there's 5.

*Most of the new driving laws are enforced in and around San Jose, not so much in the little towns. It's normal to see 3 people on a motorcycle w/out helmets or a baby without a car seat in villages and towns scattered around the country.

*It is true they're more apt to target gringos.

*Don't try to skip out on paying a ticket, Costa Rica and rental car companies aren't stupid, you will bet BURNED.

TONS of Costa Rica Travel Info and VIDEOS on our website: Travel Costa Rica NOW and if you want to visit our YouTube Channel: iCostaRica24 ENjoY!
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in Commentary/Editorial and Rants, Costa Rica Travel Info, Driving in Costa Rica | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge in Fortuna
    Eco Lodge, Princesa de la Luna in La Fortuna Costa Rica. Princesa de la Luna is an Eco Lodge about 12 minutes from the center of La Fortuna ...
  • Cano Negro Costa Rica
    Don't miss the chance to visit Cano Negro up on the Costa Rica Nicaragua border. We were just there a couple weeks ago and thought we w...
  • She Moved to Costa Rica by HERSELF- Q&A
    Making the move to La Fortuna Costa Rica, Mendee takes a little break and checks out Rio Celeste with a friend. Traveling to Costa Rica is O...
  • BEST place to VIEW the Arenal Volcano
    The Arenal Observatory Lodge just outside of La Fortuna Costa Rica is the BEST place to view the ever-erupting Arenal Volcano. A couple week...
  • Our Apartment in La Fortuna Costa Rica
    Living and working in Costa Rica is not EASY if making money is a MUST. I can't tell you how many people we've seen come and go be...
  • Saving the Sharks
    Working with the Costa Rica Travel Channel and Travel Costa Rica Now, I have the opportunity to travel around Costa Rica and meet some tr...
  • Rio Celeste in Costa Rica
    Hey guys, not too long ago, D’Angelo and I went for the day to Tenorio Volcano National Park. Since we live in La Fortuna, not too far away,...
  • Volunteering in Costa Rica - 2 Girls Experience
    There's a LOT of opportunities to volunteer in Costa Rica- I do know that. From protecting turtle eggs to feeding a baby sloth at a re...
  • Zip Line in Costa Rica.... Whoo HOO!
    La Fortuna has some of the BEST zip lines in the Costa Rica, like this one I'm doing now. REALLY? You're not going to do a zip line,...
  • Will Smith MOVIE in La Fortuna- kinda COOL
    Will Smith, son Jaden Smith along with director M. Night Shyamalan are shooting a movie in La Fortuna Costa Rica. The movie is called, '...

Categories

  • Abercam La Fortuna
  • AM Costa Rica
  • Anything NICARAGUA
  • Arenal Bungalows
  • Arenal Costa Rica
  • Arenal Volcano
  • Baldi Hot Springs
  • Blue Zones in Costa Rica
  • Boruca Masks
  • Buses in Costa Rica
  • Cano Negro Reserve
  • Casa Alfi Hotel San Jose
  • Casa Caletas Hotel
  • Club Vertigo
  • Cocos Island
  • Commentary/Editorial and Rants
  • Conversion/Exchange Rate
  • Costa Rica Cooking Class
  • Costa Rica Travel Info
  • Couchsurfing
  • Driving in Costa Rica
  • Drugs in Costa Rica
  • Eco friendly
  • Eco Termales Hot Springs
  • Eco Tourism
  • Expats
  • Fiji
  • Gaia Hotel and Reserve
  • GAY Costa Rica
  • Green market
  • Gringo Pricing
  • Hotel La Amistad
  • Hotel Villa Decary
  • Humor
  • Immunization shots
  • Interbus
  • Jaco
  • La Fortuna Costa
  • La Fortuna Costa Rica
  • La Fortuna Suites
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens/Poas Volcano
  • Leichamenisis
  • Living in Costa Rica
  • Los Laureles Hot Springs
  • Manuel Antonio National Park
  • Manuel Antonio Quepos
  • Money Matters
  • Monteverde/Santa Elena
  • National Parks in Costa Rica
  • Nicoya Peninsula
  • Our Vacation Rental Property La Fortuna
  • Palo Verde Resort
  • Politics
  • Princesa de la Luna
  • Puerto Viejo
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park
  • Rio Celeste
  • Rio Frio
  • Samara
  • San Jose
  • San Jose Bus Schedule
  • San Jose International Airport
  • San Jose Nightclubs
  • Sea Turtles
  • Sex Related Topics
  • Shark Finning
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden
  • Tabacon Hot Springs
  • Tamarindo
  • Taxi Service
  • Tenorio National Park
  • Theft and Crime in Costa Rica
  • Things to Do
  • Tico Culture
  • Travel Tips
  • Travel Tours and Packages
  • Travel Videos

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (35)
    • ►  November (1)
    • ►  September (1)
    • ►  August (3)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (1)
    • ►  May (3)
    • ►  April (3)
    • ►  March (8)
    • ►  February (5)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (72)
    • ►  December (7)
    • ►  November (5)
    • ►  October (2)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (9)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (5)
    • ►  April (6)
    • ►  March (7)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (4)
  • ►  2011 (94)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (9)
    • ►  October (4)
    • ►  September (11)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (17)
    • ►  April (11)
    • ►  March (7)
    • ►  February (6)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ▼  2010 (67)
    • ▼  December (5)
      • Why Can't our Dog be a COW
      • Why wouldn't they STEAL your STUFF in Costa Rica?
      • I Prefer My Police CORRUPT
      • a WARNING about Baldi Hot Springs
      • Friends are the BEST part
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (10)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (3)
    • ►  April (3)
    • ►  March (3)
    • ►  February (4)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2009 (100)
    • ►  December (5)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (9)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (9)
    • ►  April (9)
    • ►  March (14)
    • ►  February (12)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (29)
    • ►  December (10)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (11)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile